Google’s 1st UK advert hits our shores with a beautiful video from a loving father to his daughter

You’ve probably seen the recent TV ad for Google Chrome. The one where a father uses the internet to send emails and YouTube video’s to his daughter Hollie from the moment she was an ickle little baby to her 7th Birthday.

This is the first UK advert by the search engine giant Google, the rework of the original which was released in America but to adorable little girl called Sophie Lee.

Both video’s use the internet to explain how each Dad’s daughter has grown up using different forms of online channels including Google and YouTube to show the audience how their little girl’s have grown up from their 1st Birthday to their little brother. The premise is a father setting up an address to email his new-born daughter and then sending her messages over the course of her life. Google has been advertising on television in America for several years, but UK adverts have been largely restricted to print and billboard sites. Its new version is a clear attempt to reach beyond its traditional technology enthusiast audience while tapping in to a new type of more emotional advertising. It seems perfect timing when Father’s Day is in a few weeks.

Both video’s brought a tear to my eyes and I’m sure a few others too. Do you think it’s a good idea?

The ad aired during the Manchester United vs Barcelona UEFA Champion’s league game last Saturday.

12 thoughts on “Google’s 1st UK advert hits our shores with a beautiful video from a loving father to his daughter

  1. It’s ironic that google has recently locked children around the world (without notice) from their gmail accounts. Way to piss off parents Google.

  2. How the hell can I get rid of this blasted banner from my computer. Close ad doesn’t work!
    If I can’t kill it soon I shall stop using Google

  3. The funny thing about all this is that Google will not allow you to create an account unless your 13 years old. My wife and I tried to create an account for our new boy and it wouldn’t let us because it said we weren’t old enough. Had to clear our cache (because when we changed the date to make him 20 it said we weren’t old enough). You’d think Google would at least change this to accommodate their new advertising.

  4. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be exciting to read through articles from other writers and use
    something from their sites.

  5. Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce a good article… but what can I say…
    I procrastinate a whole lot and never seem to get anything done.

  6. Attractive component to content. I simply stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing on your augment or even I fulfillment you get entry to constantly rapidly.

  7. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I am going to forward
    this article to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

