Looking back over the past year, how life has changed so much, honestly… it’s a little scary..don’t you agree?

Just thought I’d fill you in, I’ve been distant of late. It’s been a manic one down here in shitty ol’ Isleworth, West London, or that bit commonly known as the shit that hit the (literal) fan that is a few miles from ‘Heaven is a halfpipeHeathrow. No I’m not about to crack out into a cane-in-the-air, tap-dancing Fred Astaire or head bang to a bit of OPM love here. But I am about to start 2012 with a bit more of a serious Bada bing bada boom than last year, the year before that or heck the time before that and the time before that and so on (you get my drift).

Last year ended on one of the most fantastic and most sensationally awesomely cool, like RAD but totally and way more cooler than that feelings in the world. No I’ve not been caught up in some magical Narnia land or taken any form of drug that isn’t alcohol or cigarettes related. This year has been one of those weird fucked up out-of-body experience type dream come reality experiences that has been non stop since the beginning.

It started off with starting the 2011 with a twattish promise with my best mate that we’d both stop smoking (something we both kept whilst we were asleep but lasted all of two minutes whilst we were awake) and included us both being single for a year (lasted 3 weeks for me and 2 months for her) before we both failed every one of our 12 New Year’s resolutions within a matter of weeks. How time flies when you make the promise to it actually happening. Tis shite. So alas the year started off one crazy start to the year that just seemed to have got weirder and weirder. I quit my job, went on a bit of a mad sod-you-all-I’m-free stage. Enjoyed the freedom I had with my friends as much as I could. Got a few freelance gigs inbetween. Loved them. Made new friends. Got a new job, back in recruitment. Who knew I’d go back down that path and ended here. In total bliss. Minus a best mate. (She’s in Toronto living the high life). Whilst I am living back at home, again. In Old Isleworth just thinking how much life can change in a matter of months. It does change. Fast. Quick. Very Quick. Suddenly. Ridiculously quick. Like no other. You do those stupid thinking moments when you think back to a few weeks ago, a few months ago and suddenly think back to those moments when you remember this time of the year when you were 5, 6 , 7 or 8 years younger. How this time of the year or the rest of it you didn’t have a care in the world. You just lived life free and alive and without a care in the world. Then it changes. You look back at laugh at those times because it’s a long time since. Then your birthday comes and goes and viola… All of a sudden it’s dawning on Christmas. That moment when little kiddies go wild at the thought of Santa coming to bring all their Christmas wishes to life. When all those blasted Christmas songs come on and Jingle Bell rock flies through your head on every bloody radio station and TV channel out there. The ones the few of your friends love to sing and dance to when the stingingly annoying music plays again and again. No I’m not scrooge. Just fed up of those repetitive songs. Still with me?

Time changes. It flies by. It does this weird skittle and a jump and then you’re sitting there no longer just longing for Santa but longing for time to slow down or maybe just stop. Slowing down time would be easier. Stopping it would complicate things.

Looking back over the past year, how life has changed so much, honestly… it’s a little scary..don’t you agree?

But that’s life. That’s what Sinatra sings anyway.

“That’s life, that’s what people say.
You’re riding high in April,
Shot down in May.
But I know I’m gonna change their tune,
When I’m right back on top in June.

That’s life, funny as it seems.
Some people get their kicks,
Steppin’ on dreams
But I just can’t let it get me down,
Cause this big old world keeps spinnin’ around.

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate,
A poet, a pawn and a king.
I’ve been up and down and over and out
But I know one thing:
Each time I find myself flat on my face,
I pick myself up and get back in the race.

That’s life, I can’t deny it,
I thought of quitting,
But my heart just won’t buy it.
Cause if I didn’t think it was worth a try,
I’d have to roll myself up in a big ball and die.”

There’s no ‘roll myself up in a big ball and die.” I’m just pointing out the lyrics. Kinda cool. Yet real and in a sense makes a little sense? Or am I going a tad bit mad here? Anyhoo, forget the lyrics or listen to them whichever. It’s all going a bit blooody fast I must admit. I’m not having a mid-life crisis, I bloody am not. But I am having those OMFG moments. (It’s the step up from OMG moments-you know the ones-don’t get bashful, agree, AGREE with me here).  You know the moment when life is just going so bloody fast it’s just weirding you out. Way too much! That was it. For me. When my sister told me she was pregnant with a baby (what else lol) but it made me think. OMFG it’s gone too quick. WTF?! OM Godsies. Yes Godsies. It’s gone to quick!

Actually honestly when she told me, it was over the phone and I was at the pub with my ex boyfriend who didn’t share the exact excitement as me because Karaoke and Pub Quiz night was on that night. Ass. Anyway she told me and by God it’s one of those moments when you jump up and down and scream. You can’t believe it. And then you can’t believe that time has flown to this, this type of news when you used to be the oldest and try your utmost (no matter how much of a geek you was) to look after the younger ones and you were gonna be the uber cool trendsetter. You know what I mean, because you’re the oldest so whatever you’ll do the young’uns will follow. Like getting married or having kids. That seems like a million miles off my plate at the moment but it all changed when I got that phone call.Now it was changed. Time changed this year.

I was to be an Auntie. My Mum (as much as she hates the word ‘Granny’ ) was actually going to be a Granny and my Granny was actually going to become a Great-Granny. It’s weird. But awesomely cool. I can’t explain that feeling when a partner sees their partner have their baby. When a mother or father sees their baby for the first time. Squashed up in their cute gorgeous-nous. But I can jump up and down and scream from the root tops that my little niece is just to die for. And by Jo doesn’t she know it. She’s got everyone wrapped around her little finger and quite rightly so. She’s the little angel. The little dolly. Gorgeous little girly girl of all 16 days today. A bundle of joy. She likes to pull funny faces, fly her arms around as if she was one better than any air traffic controller out there, kick her little legs when she’s not being rocked, swayed or sung to enough and scream to her hearts content if you though you were having sleep tonight and not being her 24/7 maid. Don’t know how my sister does it but she’s been a star. Time has been running by quick and I’m happy 2012 is starting off with a new addition to the family. Congratulations to my sister and her boyfriend on the arrival of their gorgeous little beauty Mya who arrived on Christmas Eve at 11.38pm weighing in at 6lbs 8 oz.

Leave a Reply

